Hijacked Records Detroit releases 'The Leader' from Antwon Faulkner


Hijacked Records Detroit releases 'The Leader' from Antwon Faulkner

Hijacked Records Detroit offers you four new killer tracks on their latest release, 'The Leader' from Antwon Faulkner - featuring four unique tracks - two of which show you a glimpse of the future of Detroit Techno, while the other two take you on a trip down memory lane but through a more sophisticated and polished lens.

The release opens with the title track, 'The Leader' bringing the heat and this track upbeat with a badass vocal sample that takes this track to a kind of new urban funk place; blurring the lines between what you can and can't do in this music. Powerful and intentional chord progressions lift you to a realm of possibilities. Soothing and tranquil synths round out the arrangement.

Next up is 'Seven Trumpets', this track is the shit! putting a distinct perspective of what funk is, yet managing deliver each offering with a fresh and unique direction - beats and baselines have a habit of insisting you move, appealing to your most primitive rhythms. The trumpet work in this track demonstrates what supernatural jazz might sound like and what future music really is.

The third track is called 'Berlin' inspired by a particular era in techno; that time when Germany really started to take a real interest in what was happening in Detroit. Creating a soundtrack for this look back at a historical moment in techno; when the language became universal.

Closing 'Under the Bridge' it's a flashback in techno, right away malevolence starts resonating with a reminiscence of acid in an industrial warehouse. The best drops at one minute seventeen seconds and your body reacts, involuntarily punishing the ground with each tread.

Antwon continues to show his versatility and endless soundscape of ideas, each one different than the last. Continuing to push the boundaries of what you thought this music was and has us along for the ride on where he will take it next.


1 Antwon Faulkner - The Leader (Original Mix)
2 Antwon Faulkner - Seven Trumpets (Original Mix)
3 Antwon Faulkner - Berlin (Original Mix)
4 Antwon Faulkner - Under The Bridge (Original Mix)

Release Date: 21st September 2015.