Kris Davis to release the 'Bleak' EP on Young Alaska

Melodic Techno

Kris Davis to release the 'Bleak' EP on Young Alaska

Kris Davis’ 'Bleak' EP is about to be releases on Christian Lffler’s dance label, Young Alaska. Löffler aims to make music that ‘combines melancholy with euphoria’, and it seems evident this vision is reflected in his own imprint with Davis’ forthcoming release.

The title track ‘Bleak’ embodies that same ‘happysad’ feel described by Löffler, with warm-sounding, tic-tock beats, crackling background atmospherics and echoing vocals. Minimal, serene and intricate, ‘Bleak’ is a dance floor cut that’s designed to keep the floor moving in the early hours or for walking alone in a snowy forest at dusk.

If the ‘Bleak’ EP were a landscape, Davis' B-Side ‘Empathy’ would be the spacious swath of winter sky embracing the frozen earth. At once somber and uplifting, with airy tones and a gentle yet driving rhythm, ‘Empathy’ takes the listener on a naturalistic ambient journey to the far-away reaches of sound.

Kris Davis lends an inside look into making the music, ""As an artist I like to try to be diverse in how I express myself. "Bleak" and "Empathy" are an emotional side I have wanted to express for a while. They we’re created to portray the light at the end of the tunnel, a glimmer of hope that everything will be okay in dark times. Optimism in dismay.‘

Kris Davis’ ‘Bleak’ EP is the second release on Christian Löffler’s Young Alaska label. Still in its infancy, the imprint has seen past releases by Christian Löffler and Mind Against.


A - Bleak
B - Empathy

Release Date: 1st April 2016.