Monta At Odds ft Your Friend - Argentum Dreams [8D Industries]

Indie/Nu Disco

Monta At Odds ft Your Friend - Argentum Dreams [8D Industries]

Monta At Odds is a Kansas City combo led by the brothers Dedric and Delaney Moore. The two have played music together all their lives and have been exploring the Monta At Odds sound since the band’s debut in the year 2000. Dedric's pulsing, melodic bass and Delaney's artfully unhinged synthesisers frame the band's central character, which is fleshed out by a talented cast of musicians and collaborators.

For Argentum Dreams, Monta At Odds is joined by area native Taryn Blake Miller, AKA Domino Record Co. artist Your Friend, who contributed lead vocal and guitar on the majority of the album’s songs. The result is a powerful sonic pool that has been inscrutably referred to as ‘Ummagumma meets Arthur Russell’s mutant disco at Vangelis’s house.

'Argentum Dreams pushes Monta At Odds’ alternate reality into streamlined consciousness. The music consists of minimal rhythms set to maximum noise, slo-mo psychedelic funk, endless dub echo, and extended-cut warped disco. Live musicians are manipulating time and space via knob turning, cymbal cracking, and pedal pushing as they interlock into hypnotic moments of heavenly bliss that seem to hold forever, captivating the mind.

Tales of love, heartbreak, wandering, invention, guilt, and the ravages of time and miscalculation weave the songs on Argentum Dreams together. Nine songs interconnected like a cyberpunk computer network in a secret basement. Nine songs lead to a vision of a dusty future full of lo-fi synths warming their circuits for possibly the last time. Nine songs of haunting vocals pushing through alter to hover above your head in a ghostly harmonic presence gently.


1. Grasping Infinity
2. Where The Stars Are Scattered
3. Chromosphere
4. Argentum Dreams
5. Solar Emotion
6. Transmission From Cobby Base
7. You Draw Me Near
8. Illuminated
9. Celestial Beings

Release Date: 19th October 2018